The right to lie: Ninth Circuit says it exists

Geee

the-right-to-lie-ninth-circuit-says-it-exists-101086469.html
Washington Examiner:

The right to lie: Ninth Circuit says it exists
By: MATTHEW SHEFFIELD
Washington Examiner
08/19/10 1:15 PM EDT

It may not be getting as much attention as the ruling on Proposition 8 but another California court (the famously liberal Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals) made some waves recently by deciding that there is a right to lie.

Pending an appeal to the U.S. Supreme Court, people in the jurisdiction of the Ninth Circuit now have the ability to make false statements under First Amendment grounds.

The ruling came in response to litigation surrounding the Stolen Valor Act which made it a crime to lie about military service, a not-exactly-rare phenomenon among people looking for the respect veterans are usually given for their service.

I’m not a lawyer but it seems to me as though the ruling is more of a plea for a better-crafted piece of legislation that criminalizes veteran impersonation only if someone is receiving monetary or other benefits as a result. Here’s an excerpt:

The Act, as presently drafted, applies to pure speech; it imposes a criminal penalty of up to a year of imprisonment, plus a fine, for the mere utterance or writing of what is, or may be perceived as, a false statement of fact—without anything more.

The Act therefore concerns us because of its potential for setting a precedent whereby the government may proscribe speech solely because it is a lie. [...] The sad fact is, most people lie about some aspects of their lives from time to time. Perhaps, in context, many of these lies are within the government’s legitimate reach. [...]