Jump to content

First Members of the ‘Tea Party Caucus’


Recommended Posts


With twenty-four lawmakers in attendance, the House Tea Party Caucus held its first meeting on Wednesday morning. Here are the representatives, all Republican, by state:

Arizona: Trent Franks
California: Gary G. Miller
Colorado: Doug Lamborn
Florida: Gus Bilirakis and Cliff Stearns
Georgia: Paul Broun, Phil Gingrey and Tom Price
Indiana: Dan Burton and Mike Pence
Iowa: Steve King
Kansas: Jerry Moran and Todd Tiahrt
Louisiana: John Fleming
Maryland: Roscoe G. Bartlett
Michigan: Pete Hoekstra
Minnesota: Michele Bachmann
Missouri: Todd Akin
North Carolina: Walter B. Jones
South Carolina: Joe Wilson
Texas: Joe L. Barton, John Carter, Michael C. Burgess, John Culberson, Louie Gohmert, Pete Sessions, Lamar Smith
Wyoming: Cynthia M. Lummis

The group is fairly predictable, with one exception: Representative Walter B. Jones of North Carolina is one of three Republicans who crossed party lines to vote for the financial regulatory overhaul that Mr. Obama signed into law on Wednesday morning.

Mrs. Bachmann, who won approval from House leaders on Monday to form the caucus, will serve as its chairwoman. She said Wednesday that at least one Democrat was interested in joining the group.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • 1701410399
  • Create New...